Frisco DWI Lawyer
Drunk driving is not taken lightly in Frisco, Texas. Talk with a Frisco DWI attorney at our firm about the options you might have for keeping a drunk driving conviction off your record.
Driving while intoxicated is one of the top reasons for vehicle collisions in Texas. For that reason, drunk driving has been outlawed. If you are caught drinking and driving in Frisco, you could face jail, prison, fines, community service, loss of your drivers license, and many other negative consequences that could upend your life.
For some people, they could face serious felony charges if they were involved in an accident due to drunk driving and someone was injured or killed. You have rights, and a Frisco DWI lawyer at Crain Lewis Brogdon, LLP can help you understand them. They can also help you understand what consequences you’ll face if convicted and can defend you in court.
What Are the Penalties for a Drunk Driving Conviction in Frisco?
Many people are familiar with the possible legal penalties for a DWI in Frisco. For instance, you might know that a first-time DWI could get you up to 180 days in jail, the loss of your drivers license for up to a year, a fine of up to $2,000, and a possible drivers license retention fee.
What you might not know is that there are other penalties, and what you’re faced with will depend on your case. For example, sometimes a first-time DWI is charged as a felony. If you hurt or killed someone in an accident, you could be charged with intoxication assault or intoxication manslaughter. These charges come with much higher penalties.
If you are charged with a DWI with a child passenger younger than fifteen years old, you could receive a state jail felony, be sentenced to state jail, and face other consequences. Being involved in a hit-and-run while driving drunk also comes with serious penalties that vary depending on your case details.
Defenses Your Frisco Drunk Driving Attorney Could Use
If you were arrested for a DWI in Frisco, you might believe that there are no defense options available to you. Your Frisco intoxicated driving attorney can look into your case to find holes in the prosecution’s argument or find errors the police made. Your attorney might be able to show the prosecution in Frisco that there’s not enough evidence against you to convict.
Below, here are a few more examples of defenses your Frisco drunk driving attorney could use to help you fight your DWI charge.
- Mistaken identity
- Mistake of fact
- Not enough evidence
- Errors with field sobriety tests
- Police or lab errors
Confer with a DWI Attorney in Frisco, TX
Drunk driving is dangerous. There are good reasons why it has been outlawed in Frisco. However, not every situation is black and white. Every person who’s been charged with a crime is entitled to a defense. Pleading guilty to a crime just to put the situation behind you might not be in your best interests.
A Frisco DWI lawyer at our firm can examine your case and give you advice as to what you might want to do. Call Crain Lewis Brogdon, LLP at 214-522-9404 or fill out the form below to reach our firm. We can advise you and defend you, but only if you reach out.